The Soul Song of Autism


To say I have learned more than I could have every imagined on this journey would be a gross understatement. It has been 5 years since I received my son’s diagnosis, and as I look back over those years, I am awestruck by how amazing this precious boy is.

Every time I look into his eyes, I see so much love… unconditional love. At times, this love seemed too overwhelming for me to embrace because I had limiting beliefs that I was unworthy and undeserving of something so pure.

My son has been the catalyst that set me on this road to healing my internal wounds. Healing those deeply embedded hurts that caused me to behave this way or that way.

His presence encouraged me to step inside myself and truly look through his eyes to see the beauty that constantly surrounds me… even amidst the chaos that takes place every day, all over the world. Through his vantage point, I’ve learned to truly embody love.

The song of his soul has touched mine, and it has awakened me to fully accept who I am. His interaction with life has encouraged me to listen to the song of my own soul.

Nicholas doesn’t think he can’t be or do anything because these beliefs are not part of his makeup. Whatever his guidance, he follows it with joy and laughter.

It has been said that a parent is a child’s first teacher… but I believe that a child, whatever their ability, is the best teacher a parent could ever have!

My son fully embodies this quote, “Love yourselves and touch everyone you encounter with love.”

If we all just gave pause and listened to the soul songs of others as well as our own… imagine how amazing life would be.

4 Responses

  1. I truly enjoyed reading your posts…
    You have a beautiful boy and it is wonderful you are coming so far within this disorder.
    I too have a boy with Autism, I attached my blog if you get a moment…it is always nice to share with others who truly get it!

    Keep up the great writing!

  2. Thanks, Kary! Great to meet you!

  3. What a sweet tribute to your son!

  4. i easily enjoy all your posting type, very interesting,
    don’t give up and keep penning simply because it simply that is worth to look through it,
    looking forward to look into far more of your current web content, enjoy your day ;)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,522 other followers